Author Topic: Hercules Gasoline Engine  (Read 3235 times)

Offline OilyRascal

• Contributor
    • Facebook Profile
Hercules Gasoline Engine
« on: March 04, 2012, 11:08:27 AM »
I have a gasoline Hercules engine purchased (at scrap price to save it) about a year ago.  My intention was to get the engine running and use it, in it's current larger setup, to assist in a small water well rig.  Long story short, that project has been trashed.

The engine served its life in an oil refinery as a reserve engine.  You can turn the engine over by hand with the hand crank.  I had to repair water lines, fuel lines, fuel tank, rebuild carb, blah blah blah....so I've done a good bit of work on it.  I "threw my hands up" with it over magneto problems (I have no experience here and can't find parts) and with the cost of a new radiator required. It's simply not cost practical for what I'm trying to do.

I now have this beast of a Hercules engine that I'd like to find a good home for.  Please don't respond to suggest that I scrap it.  I'm not interested in financial gain but rather with finding it a home where it would be appreciated - not scrapped and hopefully not sitting in the weather as it is now.

PM me if you have interest or if you know of any group that may.  Thanks!

"FORGED IN THE USA" myself.  Be good to your tools!

Garden and Yard Rustfinder Extraordinaire!
http://www.papawswrench.com/vboard/index.php?topic=3717

Offline johnsironsanctuary

• Contributor
  • Super Contributor and Geezer in training
Re: Hercules Gasoline Engine
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2012, 11:23:40 AM »
Oily,
What is the model of the Herc.  I am in the American Truck Historical Society and there are always Diamond T owners looking for  solid engine. Maybe I can find it a home.
JIS
Top monkey of the monkey wrench clan

Offline keykeeper

« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2012, 11:42:47 AM »
Is it a vehicle engine, or one of the hit and miss types?