Author Topic: Can I get your opinion?  (Read 3615 times)

Offline Corey

Can I get your opinion?
« on: December 20, 2011, 02:21:28 PM »
I recently sold a Stanley No. 5 wood plane for $25.  I had a hard time pricing it because it looks like on Ebay that they sell anywhere from $10 - $60.  Do you think I asked too little for it?  I am new to this and wanted to see if I could learn something from anyone willing to share advice.  Is the variability on Ebay likely due to the condition of the plane?

See my pictures below.
http://www.vintageitems4sale.com - I have lots of vintage tools
http://www.facebook.com/vintageitems4sale
100% of profit goes to charity.  For details about current charity visit the homepage

Offline stanley62

Re: Can I get your opinion?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 02:27:10 PM »
Corey,

Condition is key, but age plays a factor also.  Some people (like myself) prefer certain vintages over others.  I prefer a type 11 plane which is the last vintage that has the low front knob (WWI era).
 The fact that yours has still has a sticker makes it work more also.

Jim
Always looking for Stanley planes and parts, Mossberg and Plomb wrenches.

Offline Corey

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2011, 02:55:41 PM »
Thanks Stanley62

Do you think I priced it fair, or too low?
http://www.vintageitems4sale.com - I have lots of vintage tools
http://www.facebook.com/vintageitems4sale
100% of profit goes to charity.  For details about current charity visit the homepage

Offline scottg

• Grandstaffworks Tools
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2011, 03:34:02 PM »
With a #5 there really is no logic.
 Your plane looks to be about type 15 or 16 maybe?
This is after the first world war but before the second.
A very fine tool.
 It looks at though you could have cleaned it spiffy good all over and made $40.
But that is at least a couple hours + of work.
   As it sits, $25 was perfectly right down the ol alley, over the plate,  in the very center of the strike zone.