Author Topic: Take inventory??? or not??  (Read 4740 times)

Offline Varidrivegt14

Take inventory??? or not??
« on: October 29, 2011, 01:25:22 PM »
i have been a diesel mechanic for 20 years. have a large set of "in service" tools. i have been collecting tools for a long time. mostly tools i have inherited for relatives, grandpanrents, my father etc. i also collect from yard sales, garage sales and flea markets. and trading with a friend who shares the same hobby. what my question is ....do you guy inventory your collections?? or just continue to buy what you find?? and if you do how do you inventory?? just curious .....

Offline kxxr

Re: Take inventory??? or not??
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 02:03:26 PM »
I keep inventory in my steel trap mind :) I have a lot of duplicates.

Offline Varidrivegt14

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 02:22:19 PM »
lol Kxxr thats how i am... some times dont find out for months that i already had the same item LOL

Offline amertrac

• Contributor
  • ny mountain man
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2011, 02:56:19 PM »
I keep a real good paper inventory of my collection(old tools) but my working tools i keep track by holes in my tool chests. when a wrench or socket is missing there is a hole bob w.
TO SOON ULD UND TO LATE SCHMART

Offline Ken W.

• CONTRIBUTOR
  • Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2011, 07:26:49 PM »
I had to take an inventory of my working tools in the tool box for my insurance co..It's an overwhelming job.The collectable stuff would take a year to go thru.It would be nice to have an inventory of the collectables plus a pic too.

Offline Papaw

• Owner/Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Alvin, Texas
    • Papawswrench
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2011, 10:28:19 PM »
When I started out, I kept paper and digital records of all my old tools, but soon it became overwhelming. I've tried to do it again at least 3 times.
Member of PHARTS - Perfect Handle Admiration, Restoration and Torturing Society