Author Topic: An Odd Lot  (Read 2176 times)

Offline lauver

• Belton, TX
An Odd Lot
« on: August 19, 2011, 12:01:40 PM »
Gang,

Picked up some unusual tools the other day.  One, an Action (Thorsen Tool) 1/4" drive open head ratchet that I've been seeking for several years.  The other two are British tools; including a Gorden Tools DOE 3/16W x 1/8W and a King Dick 1/2" drive socket marked 9/16" BSF and 1/2"W (it measures about 1" AF).  As a rule, British tools are rare in Texas, but they do occur from time to time.  However, in all my years, I've never seen a King Dick tool.  Here's a couple of photos:

Here's the threesome together...

And here's a close-up of the King Dick socket (Note it a tapered socket with two knurled rings, the base is satin chrome while the top is polished chrome).  I really like it!

I'm guessing the british tools are early 1960's to early 1970's, but they could be 1950's.  What are your thoughts on dating these tools.

The Action ratchet maybe 1957 to mid 1980's, but I don't know how long the Action brand was in use. Does anyone have any Thorsen catalogs?

Any help appreciated as AA was not much help on these oddballs.

Member of PHARTS - Pefect Handle Admiration, Restoration, and Torturing Society

Offline kxxr

Re: An Odd Lot
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 01:33:31 PM »
Nice. I have both the Thorsen and the Action versions of that design in the 3/8 inch drive but have never even seen a quarter inch. Good catch!
I can't help much with the age. I could guess but that doesn't help much.

Offline bonneyman

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 02:50:12 PM »
Gary, post a pic or two of that 1/4" ratchet in the ratchet thread. Been looking for an open head rat to post as an example there.
I sold a 1/4" Action rat a few years ago. I was a dumb-dumb - didn't realize Action was a good ratchet.
Ratchet Guru

Offline anglesmith

• Mid Northcoast NSW Australia
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 08:08:39 PM »